top of page
  • Jasmina

Reflections from The Chateau stay

How wonderful things can happen!

I was in the doldrums. It seemed that all energy was draining from my body and my mind too. My regular active regime of running around in my voluntary work had been stopped as I was on enforced rest.


‘Do something’! But what?


Then a friend sent me news of a writing competition for Seniors: short stories and poems.

Dare I? I felt the urge to try and write but to submit my efforts for everyone’s eyes and ears was daunting.

I determined I must!

I wrapped my mind and heart in it.

For days, I thought and thought and words trickled in. Soon being mindless turned to being mindful. ‘It’s working!’ I said to myself. The words fell on the paper. What a welcome surge!

And my health improved; I bounced back – sleepless days and nights vanished to allow me to find the persistence to focus.

My poem “Quicksand’ emerged!


News came and to my utter delight ‘Quicksand’ was declared second in the poetry category of the Jasmina Awards 2019.


Because of the generosity of Tan Sri Vincent Tan and away from the lingering haze of KL my husband, Ravi and I joined the other winners at The Chateau, Bukit Tinggi.

There we stepped into a serene place within the primary forest. Listen carefully and there you can hear the raucous calls of the gibbons hidden in the pristine jungle. The cool air is uplifting and made all our steps lighter.


Camaraderie is contagious and uplifting. It was easy to smile, to encourage and exchange jokes with new - found friends: such a sporting group of Seniors!

All compliments to the excellent staff of the Chateau. Their service was impeccable. We relished their care and warmth from start to finish.

Too soon our unforgettable experience came to an end and it was time to say our good byes. We hugged and hugged to seal our new friendships.


Our sincere thanks to Tan Sri Vincent Tan and the Berjaya Team, Datin Sunita and Dr Jasmina Kuka.


Thank you for giving Seniors a visible voice. Age matters - we are inspired to endeavour, all of us, to remain active holistically.



Keats with her husband, Ravi Markandu

Written by Keats Markandu (Tan Keat Eng)


Second Prize Winner

Love Poem Category

Jasmina Awards 2019



Note: This a reflective piece written after the weekend stay at The Chateau, Bukit Tinggi together with the other winners of Jasmina Awards 2019. Click HERE to view pictures from the magical weekend.



117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page