top of page
  • Jasmina

Maybe I could write?

"Yes, I'll try to write."


Hearing this feedback from a senior citizen who usually does not write at all is humbling and inspiring. This was the response by the senior citizen after seeing the publicity about Jasmina Awards and the criteria for the competition. It is inspiring because Jasmina Awards is now not only reaching out to existing writers with experience in the literary field, it is breaking new ground and giving a platform for amateur writers to put in words what they have to share with others.  



"I really appreciate this opportunity to take a pause and reflect on what's important in my life. Hardly have I gotten this chance, this luxury of time to really do so. To recollect memories which are meaningful and to put it down in writing. It's a nice feeling. Thank you."


Celebrating active ageing is one of the key objectives of the Jasmina Awards, and the team behind the Awards sincerely hopes that senior citizens will embrace this experience to share their stories whole-heartedly.


We know that there are new suggestions already in store for the next edition of the Awards: for instance, adding a category where those younger could write about the elderly. We welcome your feedback and suggestions very much. Please feel free to email jasmina@diversecity.my to share your thoughts!


Here are some of the feedback we have received so far (we will add on here as we receive them):


- "I'm a senior citizen. It's good to know that someone out there still values contributions from senior citizens😄👌 and has created a specific spot & occasion to celebrate them!"


- "Yes I am (going to participate). I am 65 and would love to be part of something like this. To encourage healthy aging."


- "My mother is never going to write about their story and I feel that if I don't, it'll never be told."

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page